17th IIFA Awards 2016: Nominations and all you need to know about the star night

17th IIFA Awards 2016: Well IIFA awards ceremony is around the corner and Bollywood celebrities are flocking to the city for this IIFA weekend. This year Madrid, Spain will be the adobe of Bollywood celebs so to attend the 17th annual IIFA awards ceremony on 25th June 2016.

Check: Udta Punjab Box Office Collection.

The International Indian Film Academy Awards popularly abbreviated as IIFA Awards is an award giving ceremony to the professionals in Bollywood honouring their artistic and technical aspects in the Hindi Film Industry.

These awards are presented by the International Indian Film Academy. The ceremony was first instituted in the year 2000. The ceremony is held in different countries worldwide with its latest engagement being instituted in Madrid, Spain.

17th IIFA Awards 2016
17th IIFA Awards 2016

Following the awards ceremony, a South Indian adaptation of IIFA was also introduced this year named as “IIFA Utsavam”. Well the other events that comprise the extravaganza include IIFA Rocks or the MULA Fest, then IIFA Stomp, followed by an exhibition of the Urban Trends and at last the magnificent all fav IIFA Awards ceremony.

Well, the week will buzz full of Bollywood stars mingling with the Spanish culture. IIFA Awards night will be hosted by the Farhan Akhtar along with Shahid Kapoor. An array of Bollywood Stars comprising of Priyanka Chopra, Salman Khan, Deepika Padukone, Hrithik Roshan, Sonakshi Sinha and Tiger Shroff will entertain the audience with their live thrilling performances on the awards night.

Well, many stars amongst the flocks have landed into the beautiful city of Madrid enjoying the local culture, food and life. The stars who have to perform landed a bit early to practice for their performances. So along with the hard work, they are seen having a gala time in the city.

For now, it will be much fascinating to see the stars in their stunning outfits walking over the Red Carpet on the IIFA Awards ceremony eve.

17th IIFA Awards 2016
17th IIFA Awards 2016

Now coming to the flocks of various awards that are given at the IIFA ceremony. Well the most popular ones are as follows:

IIFA Awards 2016 Nominations

  • Best Movie
  • Best Director
  • Best Actor
  • Best Actress
  • Best Supporting Actor
  • Best Supporting Actress
  • Best Performance in a Negative Role
  • Best Performance in a Comic Role
  • Star Debut of the Year – Male
  • Star Debut of the Year – Female
  • Best Music Director
  • Best Lyricist
  • Best Playback Singer Male
  • Best Playback Singer Female
  • Best Story

Followed by this are the ‘SPECIAL AWARDS’:

  • Style Icon
  • Style Diva
  • Most Glamorous Star of the Year
  • Best On-Screen Beauty
  • Contribution to a Greener Earth
  • Face of the Year
  • Entertainer of the Year
  • Special Award for Global Impact
  • Outstanding Contribution to Indian cinema
  • Outstanding Achievement in Indian cinema
  • Outstanding Achievement by an Indian in International Cinema
  • Artists of the Decade

Then coming to the technical aspect, the ‘TECHNICAL AWARDS’ that are given include:

  • Best Art Direction
  • Best Action
  • Best Background Score
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Choreography
  • Best Costume Design
  • Best Dialogue
  • Best Editing
  • Best Makeup
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Song Recording
  • Best Sound Recording
  • Best Sound Re-Recording
  • Best Special Effects
  • IIFA Award for Best Music

Now after this coming to the nominations for the IIFA Awards 2016.

Nominees for the Best Picture Award of IIFA 2016 are:

  • Bajrangi Bhaijaan
  • Piku
  • Talvaar
  • Tanu Weds Manu Returns
  • Bajirao Mastani

Nominees for the Best Direction Award:

  • Kabir Khan for Bajrangi Bhaijaan
  • Shoojit Sircar for Piku
  • Meghna Gulzar for Talvar
  • Aanand L. Rai for Tanu Weds Manu Returns
  • Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Bajirao Mastani

Nominees for Performance in Leading Role – Female

  • Priyanka Chopra for Dil Dhadakne Do
  • Shraddha Kapoor for ABCD 2
  • Deepika Padukone for Piku
  • Kangana Ranaut for Tanu Weds Manu Returns
  • Deepika Padukone for Bajirao Mastani

Nominees for Performance in a Comic Role

  • Nawazuddin Siddiqui for Bajrangi Bhaijaan
  • Deepak Dobriyal for Tanu Weds Manu Returns
  • Kapil Sharma for Kis Kisko Pyaar Karoon

Nominees for Performance in a Negative Role

  • Nawazuddin Siddiqui for Badlapur- Don’t Miss the Beginning
  • Gajraj Roa for Talvar
  • Darshan Kumar for NH 10

Nominees for Best Music Direction

  • Pritam for Bajrangi Bhaijaan
  • Amaal Malik, Ankit Tiwari, Meet Bros Anjjan  for  Roy
  • Sanjay Leela Bhansali for Bajirao Mastani

Nominees for Best Story

  • V. Vijayendra Prasad for Bajrangi Bhaijaan
  • Massimo Carlotto for Badlapur- Don’t Miss the Beginning
  • Juhi Chaturvedi for Piku

Nominees for Best Lyrics

  • Varun Grover  for Moh Moh Ke Dhaage – Dum Laga Ke Haisha
  • Irshad Kamli for Agar Tum Saath Ho – Tamasha
  • Amitabh Bhattacharya for Gerua – Dilwale

Nominees for Best Playback Singer – Male

  • Arijit Singh  for Hamari Adhuri Kahani – Hamari Adhuri Kahani
  • Arijit Singh for Sooraj Dooba Hai – Roy
  • Papon for  Moh Moh Ke Dhaage – Dum Laga

Nominees for Best Playback Singer – Female

  • Sunidhi Chauhan for Girls Like to Swing – Dil Dhadakne Do
  • Kanika Kapoor for Chittiyaan Kalaiyaan – Roy
  • Monali Thakur for Moh Moh Ke Dhaage – Dum Laga Ke Haisha
  • Shreya Ghoshal for Deewani Mastani – Bajirao Mastani

Nominees for Performance in a Leading Role – Male

  • Varun Dhawan for Badlapur -Don’t Miss the Beginning
  • Salman Khan for Bajrangi Bhaijaan
  • Amitabh Bachchan for Piku
  • Ranbir Kapoor for Tamasha
  • Ranveer Singh for Bajiroa Mastani

Previous articleUdta Punjab 8th Day Collection 2nd Friday Box Office Report
Next articleSuhani Si Ek Ladki 24th June 2016: Yuvaan and Yuvani makes a try to leave the house but fails
Amit Sharma
I'm an entertainment lover, traveler and loves to read and write on latest news and stories across the globe. I've 6 years of journalism experience and currently settled with The Courier Daily (TCD) as a full time journalist and content writer.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here