Australia Team Squad For World T20 2016 Announced – Smith To Lead

Australia Team Squad For World T20 2016 Announced: ICC World T20 2026 is going to begin in just a month’s time and all the teams have started to pull up their socks for the multi-nation tournament for the World T20 championship. Today, the national selectors of Cricket Australia have announced the 15-man squad that will represent their nation in the upcoming event.

The Australia Squad For World T20 2016 has come out as very surprising as the captaincy has been given to Steve Smith instead of Aaron Finch. Smith is also the Test and ODI skipper of the team. However, Finch is still a part of the side, but he will play as a batsman only.

Read More – Virat Kohli – Anushka Sharma Breakup

Australia Team Squad For World T20 2016 Announced

Australia Team Squad For World T20 2016
Australia Team Squad For World T20 2016

Also, there are 3 players who will make their international T20 debut in the mega Cricketing event. Ashton Agar, Peter Nevill and Adam Zampa are the players who have been selected in the side. The selection committee headed by Rod Marsh, the key of the selection was to include players who are young, energetic and will adapt themselves in the Indian conditions.

Apparently, players like Nathan Lyon, M Wade and C Boyce have not been included in the side that will take part in the World T20 campaign. Lyon being the most successful Australian spinner in Test cricket has not performed to the par when it comes to the shortest format of the game. Whereas, Wade has not clicked in the chances he has received hence the chance is given to Nevill, who keeps the wickets in Test matches.

ICC World T20 2016

This is going to be the 6th edition of the championship of game’s shortest format and the Aussies have never won it. They reached to the Finals in 2010 in West Indies but lost to England. They have qualified for the Semi-Finals on 2007, 2012. Apparently, the previous edition in Bangladesh in 2014 was not good for them by any means and they lost 3 games out of the 4 they played.

Although, players like Faulkner, Finch and Coulter-Nile have to undergo a fitness test before the World T20 as all these players are out of the team due to injury and once they pass the fitness test, only then they will be a part of the team as Australian team also have a backup for them.

Australia Team For World T20 2016:

S Smith (capt), D Warner, A Finch, G Maxwell, J Faulkner, M Marsh, P Nevill (WK), A Zampa, A Agar, N Coulter-Nile, J Hazelwood, U Khawaja, A Tye, S Watson, J Hastings

The Australian selectors have also selected the Women squad for the World T20 championship which will be contested parallelly to the man’s tournament.

For more hot and latest updates around the world, stay connected at The Courier Daily.

Previous articleSiya Ke Ram 8 February 2016: Dasharath Proposes Rishta For Sita’s Sisters
Next articleGoogle To Offer Flood Alerts in India Via Maps, Now Card


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here